19th of july thursday · 9:30pm


Composition, direction, piano Marco Barroso

Flute Manuel Luís Cochofel

Clarinet soprano Paulo Gaspar

Soprano Sax João Pedro Silva

Alto Sax Ricardo Toscano

Tenor Sax José Menezes

Bari Sax Paulo Gaspar

Trumpets Jorge Almeida, Gonçalo Marques, Pedro Monteiro

Trombones Ruben Santos, Eduardo Lála, Pedro Canhoto

Electric bass Miguel Amado

Percussion Vicky Marques




New trance










Freestyle boogie





L.U.M.E — Lisbon Underground Music Ensemble was created in 2006 by the composer Marco Barroso. Formed by 15 instrumentalists, some of them the most experienced jazz and classical music musicians, the Ensemble seeks inspiration in the big band tradition always renewing this style in a intelligent and ironic fashion. L.U.M.E music combines the written composition with improvisation and travels between universes apparently as distinct as the funk and textural music, the boogie and impressionist atmospheres… with ‘Zappatian’ refinements. The Ensemble first recording dates from 2006 ( JAAC Records) and since then they has been performing in countless concerts and festivals. The recording was reedited in September 2013 by the Dutch label Challenge Recordings, who distributed it worldwide. But the highlight of this formation came in 2016 with a tour in Belgium, Holland and Germany and the new recording Xabregas 10, regarded by the national and international media as one of the most original albums of recent years by a big ensemble.