10th of july tuesday · 9:30pm


Anabela Malarranha

Musical direction
Andrea Sanguineti


Orquestra Sinfónica Portuguesa
Principal conductor Joana Carneiro

Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978)

Flute concerto


Piotr llitch Tchaikovski (1840-1893)

5th symphony in E minor, op.64


Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978) wrote concertos for violin, piano and cello but none for flute. The Flute Concerto is a transcription of his Violin Concerto in D minor written in 1940. In 1968 and encouraged by the composer himself, the renowned French flutist Jean-Pierre Rampal transcribed the violin concerto to flute, remaining faithful to the original work. Its three movements of extreme technical difficulty show a certain French style, creating an exotic and almost mystical atmosphere. The 5th Symphony in E minor, op.64 by Piotr Illitch Tchaikovsky was written between May and August 1888 and premiered on November of that same year in St. Petersburg. Although his confidence had been shattered by the lack of success of his 4th Symphony, ten years later Tchaikovsky succeeded in composing a symphony with four movements which are truly outstanding for their technical assurance and structural balance.