19.07 wednesday, 21:30


Madeira Classical Orchestra


Alexander Buzlov cello


Gianluca Marcianò musical direction

Joly Braga Santos (1924-1988)

Staccato Brilhante Op.69


Edward Elgar (1857-1934)

Cello Concerto in E minor Op.85


Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)

Guillaume Tell Ouverture


Pietro Mascagni (1863-1945)

Intermezzo, Cavalleria Rusticana


Franz von Suppé (1819-1895)

Light Cavalry Ouverture


The Staccato Brilhante, op. 69 written by Joly Braga Santos (1924-1988) lasts only a few minutes and it was the last work of the composer. Commissioned by maestro Álvaro Cassuto for the inaugural concert of the newly formed Nova Filarmonia Portuguesa, it excels for its remarkable precision and for a very simple rhythmic texture. Joly Braga Santos completed the score in April 1988 and the piece was premiered the following month. The Cello Concerto in E minor, op.85 was composed by Edward Elgar (1857-1934) in the aftermath of the First World War. The first public audition was not a promising one and the work attained deserved recognition in the Fifties due to the superlative performances by Jacqueline du Pré. Guillaume Tell’s Ouverture was Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868) last opera which opened in Paris in 1829 and the Intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana, the only real success of Pietro Mascagni (1863-1945) are to evergreen pieces that will precede another one equally famous: the Light Cavalry’s Ouverture from the operetta of Franz Suppé (1819-1895) premiered at the Vienna Carltheater in March 1866.

Madeira Classical Orchestra

Alexander Buzlov

Gianluca Marcianò