15th July — Friday, 9:30pm


Portugal in World War I

in colaboration with

The International Festival of Music of Estoril


Portuguese Symphony Orchestra

São Carlos Opera House Choir

Sara Braga Simões soprano

André Baleiro baritone

Joana Carneiro conductor

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Dona Nobis Pacem


Ludwig van Beethoven

7th Symphony in A major, op.92


Ralph Vaughan Williams’Dona Nobis Pacem is according to the composer’s words "a prayer for peace and a warning to the wars that surely are bound to come". A cantata for chorus and orchestra written and premiered in 1936, it is based on texts of various sources such as the Latin Mass, a 1855 political speech by John Bright, poems by Walt Whitman and excerpts from the Old Testament. Beethoven's 7th Symphony in A major, op.92 in four movements was premiered in Vienna in 1813 conducted by the composer himself and received with general acclaim. With an amazing unity and vibrant rhythmical progression, Beethoven regarded this symphony as one his best works and Wagner described it as “the Apotheosis of the Dance”. Maybe for that reason Isadora Duncan has not hesitated to dance the Allegretto from the second movement.